cg1405

All About Me …

Final Thoughts – Modern British Poetry

coffee_and_books--catherine_hadler

This experience was everything that I had expected and more. I have learned much more about Poetry and the various themes within Poetry.  I have had the opportunity to read works by T.S. Eliot, Thomas Hardy, W.B. Yeats, D.H. Lawrence, Wilfred Owen, Edith Sitwell, Seigfriend Sassoon, Stevie Smith, W.H. Auden, and Philip Larkin. Originally, I was an adamant admirer of American Poet, Edgar Allan Poe exclusively, but I’ve also enjoyed Yeats and Auden. I found both Poets to be quite profound. I love the sense of rebellion in Auden’s poems. I also loved the intellectualism and mythological references in Yeat’s poems. Initially, I was definitely not a fan of T.S. Eliot. I found his poem “The Waste Land” very complicated and unnecessarily complicated, honestly. The poem was far too complex for readers to truly digest in my opinion. His delivery is quite sporadic. He won me over in his poem “Hollow Men.” “Hollow Men” was very deep and profound. There was a brash tone in Eliot’s voice in this poem. He seemed quite stern and declarative. He called out the Modern Experience for what he saw it as and all of its vices. I was very impressed by the quiet strength within the poem. Taking this class was a great choice, and a great experience. I’m also very glad that I bought The Norton Anthology of Modern Poetry book so I am able to go back and re-read poems, for clarity and simply for fun.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 8, 2013 by in Who are you? and tagged , , , , .

Navigation

